As one of the most prolific American composers of the last 100 years, it's no surprise that Paulus' catalog is steeped in Americana. From orchestral to choral, his works span the lexicon of American music.

Hymn for America

Commissioned by the Mormon Tabernacle Choir and premiered in 2004, this beautiful tribute to the land of the free is a 4 minute hymn that is both uplifting and nostalgic. At the heart of the piece is a moving text by long time collaborator, Michael Dennis Browne. SSATBB or TTBB, A Capella



TimePiece was commissioned and performed by the Minnesota Orchestra in 2011. It was a co-commission by Stephen and son Greg Paulus. TimePiece fully incorporates the original American art form, Jazz, by embedding a jazz quintet in the orchestra. The piece perfectly oscillates between symphonic sections that are then amplified by the 5 jazz improvisers in stunning fashion. A truly original piece and a perfect example of how interchangeable jazz and classical music really are. Soloists on trumpet, alto sax, keyboard, bass and drums. 45 minutes

 American Vignettes

American Vignettes is an 18 minute piece for cello and piano. It is a quintessentially American piece with modern takes on classic American melodies, such as "Whoa Back, Buck", "The Water is Wide" and "She'll Be Coming 'Round the Mountain". Lush and adventurous, it evokes everything from the Hudson Valley to the wild west.


Age of American Passions

This piece is another beautiful tribute to america and was commissioned for the 50th anniversary of the Baton Rouge Symphony in 1999. Written for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horns, trumpet, trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion and strings. 3 movements, 27 minutes


Whitman's New York

This gorgeous piece evokes the dream that is New York. The text by Walt Whitman, was selected and edited by Paulus and premiered by the New York Choral Society in 2009. SSAATTBB Chorus with Orchestra.

The Long Shadow of Lincoln

Commissioned by the Friends of Music at the Supreme Court to honor Justice Harry A. Blackmun, this piece encompasses true Americana. It was premiered by none other than Robert McDuffie and Samuel Ramey in 1994 in the Supreme Court building. Bass/Baritone, Violin, Cello and Piano, 20 minutes

A Heartland Portrait

Commission for the legendary Thomas Hampson, this 25 minute piece for solo voice (mezzo or baritone) and piano, is full of the spirit of the heartland. The text is written by the amazing American poet, Ted Kooser.


An American Medley

An American Medley is a piece written for chorus and brass quintet that bounces back and forth between punchy upbeat sections and legato brass passages. Written in 1988, it showcases Paulus' mastery of writing for brass and encompasses the true american sound. The piece includes American Traditional, Spiritual and shaker texts as well as text by Stephen Foster. SSAATTBB Chorus and Brass Quintet. 15 minutes, 5 movements


Behold This Man! George Washington

A beautiful tribute to America's first president, this piece runs 13 minutes and is written for narrator and orchestra. The piece was premiered by the National Symphony at the illustrious Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. in 2005.

 Concerto in the American Style

This concerto was commissioned by the Tucson Symphony Orchestra under the baton of George Hanson in 1998. With inspiration drawn from the great American composers and the entire country from sea to shining sea.


Additional content